CSA Share Menu Plan

So, I’m a bit of an overplanner 🙂 We used to plan our menu for the month so that we wouldn’t eat the same thing more than 3 times and could use items in more than one dish without cooking the same dish twice in a week. BUT, with our exciting, new CSA adventure…we can’t do that! So, we decided to plan once we got our share, but we got our share last Thursday and had visitors Friday-Sunday (didn’t leave a lot of time to sit down with Dr O and the trusty internet looking for recipes)! So, I was *finally* able to sit down and plan our menu through our next share pick up. I wanted to do my best to use the items that would go bad soon and the items that would keep towards the end. This was tricky because I had no clue how long some of these items would stay good since we’ve never bought some of them…EVER (like radishes and beets…).

Today, I sat down with some recipes from a friend (shout out Krystle!), two Garden Fresh Veggie cook books, and my beloved Pinterest and got to work to plan through next Thursday. Our food budget is usually depleted at this point in the month so I wanted to try to find recipes that would use additional ingredients that we already had. I will have to get a few things from the store, but not too much so I think it’ll be okay 🙂 Here’s the run down

Tonight: Leftover Veggie Lasagna, Fresh Salad, Garlic Knots

Wednesday: Skirt Steak and Bok Choy Stir Fry & Sauteed Grated Beets

Thursday: Herb Roasted Chicken & Swiss Chard Chickpea Brown Rice & Roasted Radishes in Soy Sauce

Friday: Spaghetti Squash Monterey & Collards

Saturday: Pasta with Walnuts and Greens (probably kale)

Sunday: Chicken Packets & Sweet Potato Souffle

Monday: Spaghetti (with homemade sauce) served in orange jack-o-lantern sweet bell peppers (festive right?!) & Garlic Knots

Tuesday: Pasta with Walnuts and Greens (mustard greens)

Wednesday: Bacon Cheeseburger Chicken & Roasted Potatoes

Thursday: Shrimp and Egg Noodles in Wine Sauce & Roasted Carnival Squash (This is also the day that we will pick up our next share, so that night Dr O and I are going to have to get to work on some menu planning!)

I will do my best to take pictures and post the recipes I’ve used (even if they’re a fail!) during the next week. If you’re anxious to try one of the recipes before I post it, comment below and I’ll direct you to the recipe!

Mrs O

1 Comment

Filed under Farm Fresh

One response to “CSA Share Menu Plan

  1. Jennie

    Not that I need it now, but I would love your homemade spaghetti sauce recipe! I tried one just winging it and it was pretty good, but I also used it on the eggplant so there were other flavors there to mask it if it was really bad!

Leave a Reply

