Quick and Easy Halloween Appliqued Shirt

I have been wanting DYING to learn how to make clothes for Little O because I love the look and fabrics of boutique clothing for little girls, but Dr O does not like the prices (I am not a huge fan of the prices, but I usually justify it in some ridiculously brilliant way…). BUT…Hobby Lobby had McCall’s patterns on sale for $1 or $2 (I can’t remember which)….by the way, did you know patterns range in price from like $13 to $16?!? I was blown away. I guess I had never looked at the price before. So, I bought a pattern for ruffle bottomed pants (my fave). Then I made some:

They are in no way perfect…but they look pretty good to the untrained eye (an they didn’t fall apart in the washer or dryer) πŸ™‚

Then, I wanted to make a shirt to go with them. I had seen this one on Pinterest and a friend had made it for her daughter:

So, I grabbed one of Little O’s plain white Garanimals shirts from Wal-mart (it has ruffley edges on the sleeves and bottom) that I got for $3.88, scraps from both of the fabrics I used on the pants, and fusible web. I went ahead and ironed a small piece of fusible web to the underside of each fabric.

I measured a 1 inch by 2 inch rectangle on the orange to use for the socks and cut two out.

Then I free-handed the shoe on the polka dot fabric.

I cut that shoe out and traced one going the opposite direction.

Then I ironed the orange fabric on first, then the shoes, overlapping them just a pinch. (If you’ve never used fusible web before, peel the paper off, then iron….I don’t mean to make you feel like an idiot, but I figured I should type it just in case you are an idiot—JUST KIDDING, I know you aren’t :))

Then I used orange thread and a zigzag stitch to go around the orange socks. I used black thread and a zigzag stitch for the shoes.

Now, up close I realize 2 things (a) This looks pretty rough and in no way boutique quality and (b) it definitely doesn’t look as nice as the satin stitch on the picture I put above fromΒ  a website, but I think it looks good enough and if someone has tips on how to get the satin stitch look without using an embroidery unit and program–I’m all ears πŸ™‚

Then I used white ribbon to tie two small bows. I pinned the sides of the bows down so that I could stitch the middles onto the shirt. I just went forward and reversed several times to stitch them on.

I wanted to monogram it, but my embroidery program only has 5 fonts and none of them are cute. In order to use my 750 cute fonts that I’ve stored up on my computer, I’d have to buy a $200 program that works with my embroidery unit’s software. So…it’ll be a while before I can use my cute fonts :/ Anyway, here is her outfit!

I added a little bit of white ruffle ribbon to the bottom of the pants too πŸ™‚ I think for less than $10 this is a pretty cute outfit!

She loved modeling it for me, Daddy, and the camera πŸ™‚ Whenever I tell her I want to take her picture, she goes and stands on the landing at the bottom of the stairs. I don’t know why she thinks that is the only place in the house to take pictures, but, needless to say, we have a ton of pictures of her in this exact spot–sometimes she sits and sometimes she stands…then she usually ends up on the tile floor doing pirouettes and sometime she falls πŸ™‚

Mrs O

3 Comments

Filed under Crafty Goodness

3 responses to “Quick and Easy Halloween Appliqued Shirt

  1. Gigi

    Love it! Have go to share this!

  2. sharpshooter77

    You are so talented and this outfit is cute.

  3. Kim R

    This turned out super cute!! As far as the satin stitch effect…I’ll go ahead and admit that I had to Google what a satin stitch was…a sewing goddess I am not!! I tried the zigzag stitch for the candy corn shirts I made, and my machine was being a bit moody and skipping stitches every now and then (user error, I’m sure…), which looked REALLY bad. I ended up using the zigzag stitch but with a SUPER short length so they were really close together. Not sure if that would maybe give you more of the effect that you are looking for, but I figured I’d throw it out there!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

