Simple, Delicious Roasted Butternut Squash

Butternut squash is one of those delicious things that a lot of people don’t usually eat (not to mention it’s not an expensive vegetable to have!) I have a friend that made a chicken casserole with it as well as a bisque. I haven’t tried either recipe yet, but we have had it as a side dish and it is delicious and simple (as stated in the title of this post)! The hardest part of this recipe is cutting up the squash. I originally cut off the ends then cut off the skin, but the last time I did it I just used my veggie peeler and that worked (although it was not as quite easy as peeling a carrot)-so you can choose to do it either way, but make sure you have bright orange squash once you’re done getting the skin off.

Then cut it into cubes, throw some oil, salt, and pepper and mix it all together. Then roast it on 400 for about 25 minutes or so. It is delicious 🙂

Mmmmm 🙂

I also read that some people put syrup or honey on it, but I think it’s delicious just with some salt and pepper! Give it a try! I bought one butternut squash for $3 and it made 8 servings (so 4 meals in the O house because Little O still refuses to try it–even though she ate it as a baby and loved it. I continue to put a couple cubes on her plate, but she ain’t havin’ it yet….give her time though!). It freezes well cut into cubes and if you buy one and don’t use it for a while, it will keep for quite a long time (Dr O said a couple months.).

Mrs O

3 Comments

Filed under Yummies

3 responses to “Simple, Delicious Roasted Butternut Squash

  1. Dorothy Harbin

    Thanks for this! It looks TOO easy not to try! I’ll get some right away!

  2. Kathy

    Great timing–I made a real small butternut squash last night. I cut off the top, sliced it lengthwise down the middle, pulled out the seeds and strings then put it cut sides down on a foil-lined pan, poured in a little water and baked at 375 for 40 – 45 minutes. It was wonderful and so easy–no peeling. We ate it right out of the shell.

  3. Nancy

    I have one sitting on my counter to use up. Last week I made an apple scented butternut squash soup. I LOVE winter squash but is a pain to prep.

Leave a Reply

