Personalized Halloween Bucket for $2!

This is Little O last year on Halloween. She was a precious little ladybug πŸ™‚ I also splurged and bought her a monogrammed Pottery Barn Kids trick or treat bag. It was her first year trick or treating….she HADΒ  to have it! It was on sale, but I still spent more on it than I would like to admit to you. And, of course, like any woman, I sold it to Dr O by saying (come on, guess what I said!?) “But, she can use it for years!” Of course, she isn’t going to be a ladybug this year. She isn’t even going to be anything red or black. She’s going to be a gray and light pink cat because it was on super sale at Carter’s and I figured this is the last year that she won’t be highly opinionated about her costume, so I went for it πŸ™‚

So, then I needed to come up with a treat bag that I liked (preferably personalized) on the super, duper cheap so Dr O wouldn’t be mad disappointed. :/ I found this bucket at Target for $2

For a little girl that is going to be a cat for Halloween, this is a pretty hideous bucket. BUT, I knew I had some light pink spray paint in the garage. I don’t even remember what it was from πŸ™‚ But, I knew I had it πŸ™‚ And that hideous monster bucket became this (after a coat of primer and one coat of spray paint).

Then I hopped onto my Silhouette SD and got to work with some black, white, and silver vinyl and now we have this!

It has her name on it in a cute polka dot font that I got from www.kevinandamanda.com And the back has more polka dots (we love are obsessed with polka dots!)

You love it don’t you?? (GiGi?!) πŸ™‚ I added some ribbon to the sides (don’t forget to quickly heat seal it with a lighter or match!) and VOILA!

I also wanted a cute candy bucket for the candy we were passing out. We have this old, huge, white bowl that I’m pretty sure is from Family Dollar and it’s gotten pretty dinged up over the years, so I thought we needed to upgrade (in a cheap inexpensive way, of course!) So, I found a very plain orange plastic bowl at Wal-Mart for $.99 and thought that I could upgrade it a bit with some vinyl and now we have

MORE polka dots, of course πŸ™‚ But, I think it’s a way cuter bowl than our nasty well-used and loved white bowl.

Am I convincing you that you need a Silhouette SD craft cutter yet?! I wish I was getting paid by them because I’m pretty sure at least one of you has purchased or will be purchasing one soon because of all the awesome stuff it does! If you don’t have a Silhouette or Cricut, you could still do this using stickers from the scrapbooking section or by modpodging some scrapbook paper onto your bucket/bowl!

Mrs O

1 Comment

Filed under Crafty Goodness

One response to “Personalized Halloween Bucket for $2!

  1. Ginny

    Of course Gigi LOVES the polka dots. Mrs. O isn’t the only one obsessed with them πŸ˜‰ Love both of the ideas, can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

Leave a Reply

