Conversations with Little O

For quite a while I’ve been getting excited for Little O to become more verbal. She has had plenty to say for over a year now, I just usually don’t understand what it is :/ However, she’s getting more and more easy to understand and now I’m excited for the conversations she and I will have…in the car, walking in the store, sitting at home, playing outside…you get it. Yesterday we had our first real exchange of conversation! It was short, but oh so sweet 🙂 and it made me pretty happy. So happy in fact that I continued to repeat it to Dr O throughout the rest of the afternoon and evening. He loves when I do that….NOT!

Yesterday, Dr O, Little O and I went to Baskin Robbins for some delicious trick or treat oreo ice cream (if you haven’t had it–you’re missing out: halloween oreo, baby ruth, butterfinger deliciousness). Baskin Robbins is conveniently located in the same shopping center as her dance studio.

On the way home she said, “Hey Mom.” (By the way, I’m “mom” now, not “mommy.” Dr O is also “dad”)

“Yes, Little O?”

“I want to go to dancing class!”

“I know you love dance, but we went to dancing class today and we don’t go back for another week. So we’ll see Ms. Dawn next Friday at dancing class. Ok?”

“I wanna do it again. I want to go to dancing class!”

So, usually our conversations consist of her telling me “No”… regardless of what I have said to her and she never answers my questions. But today she had much more to say 🙂 I don’t know that she’s grasped the idea of how to answer questions yet. So, this conversation made me really excited that maybe we’re to the point that we can have more conversations instead of just me talking to her myself all the time!

Mrs O

2 Comments

Filed under sweet child of mine

2 responses to “Conversations with Little O

  1. Dorothy Harbin

    Too adorable! I do feel obligated to warn you that once she starts she will never stop talking!!

Leave a Reply

