Apothecary Jars

I’ve seen quite a few DIY apothecary jars floating all around the blogosphere and Pinterest. http://www.shanty-2-chic.com has some really cute ones. And I’ve been wanting to make these for months, but I couldn’t ever find 3 unfinished wood candlesticks! Finally, I found some πŸ™‚ So, here were my supplies

The candlesticks were $2 each at Michael’s (I wanted to get 3 different sizes, but they only had 2 and since I’ve been looking for unfinished wood candlesticks in 3 different craft stores for over a month now…I just went with it!). The jars were 50% off at Hobby Lobby so $2 each. The unfinished wood circle plaques were $1 each and the knobs were $2 for the whole bag. I bought some black paint, brushes, and the letters to spell “boo.” (“O” was back in stock….I was pretty excited!). I attached the circle knobs to the silver canister tops and the candlesticks to the circle plaques using none other than my fav…Gorilla Glue! I learned my lesson about wood and the hot glue gun when I made the “Fall” word posts πŸ˜‰

Then I decided I wanted to spray paint all of these black instead of using acrylic paint. I just didn’t think acrylic paint would hold up well on those silver lids. So, Dr O primed and painted them for me (What a great guy, huh!?!). Then I used…da, da, da, daaaaaa (sing it, come on…you know you want to!) Gorilla Glue to attach the glass canisters to the candlesticks. Dr O did tear off the brass candle inserts so the canisters would adhere more easily. Then, I took some candy corn and candy pumpkins, put a few in each jar, tied some holiday ribbon around the knobs and

This is without the letters to spell “boo.” I still have to paint and attach them, but I’ll just use black ribbon to tie them around the knob and each letter will hang on a jar. I’ll post a pic as soon as I’ve got it done, but I thought…”It’s the middle of October and I want some halloween-ey (it’s a word….) stuff on our entry way table NOW” (I’m slightly incredibly impatient).

Little O made a rockin’ spider at school last week! And, I really like adding her artwork into my decor so….

Now, all I have to do is switch out the contents of the jars and add ribbon that coordinates to the contents and TA DA! I’ve got something a bit more snazzy on my entry table πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’re thinking, “Mrs O, you could have just bought some apothecary jars.” But, I LOVE LOVE LOVE making my own things! It just makes me feel good when it turns out well (don’t get me wrong, they do NOT all turn out well….some don’t are MASSIVE failures….) and I get to smile when I walk by it each day and think “I made that!” So, for less than $15, I made 3 apothecary jars :)Now….go make your own! Don’t be lazy and buy them….get to work πŸ˜‰

Mrs O

PS- I painted my letters a couple nights ago and now I have an even more Halloweeny set up on the entry table πŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Crafty Goodness

One response to “Apothecary Jars

  1. Ash

    Love them Mrs O!!

Leave a Reply

