The Gift of Food….isn’t it the best gift of all?!

When we moved to Kentucky I joined a spouse group for residents. I’ve met some great people through it and Little O has also made some friends. One thing that they do is to organize meals for families who’ve just had babies. I am a *huge* proponent of this idea (not just because I love food…I know that’s what you were thinking :)) because after Dr O and I had Little O, my Real Housewives of the School of Medicine (yes, we called ourselves that AND we have magnets and coffee cups where we’re posing as “real housewives”…it’s awesome and you’re definitely jealous!) organized dinners for us for 2 weeks or so after we came home from the hospital. It was one of the biggest blessings–not having to worry about when to cook dinner, going to the grocery store, etc. and it gave us a chance to visit with our friends that brought dinner (we usually coaxed them into staying and helping us eat their delicious goodies…it helps that they got to hold Little O if they stayed!). So, I jumped at the chance to sign up to bring dinners to these families. One of the spouses that I just met at a different doctor spouse organization (amazingly, there is more than one…), had her sweet baby girl (3rd child….how does someone even grasp the idea of having THREE kids?!) and I signed up to take her dinner. I took her family veggie lasagna, garlic parmesan knots, and a homemade apple cobbler. However, she wasn’t going to be at the house when I dropped it off (her mother lives in town and would be watching the kids), so I wanted to label and give instructions for the meal (in a cute way, of course!)

I could easily have done this by writing on the foil and baggie with a Sharpie, but everyone appreciates something cute 🙂 So, I quickly whipped up a couple of tags for the dishes!


Here’s how I made these using Microsoft Word (get ready, there are going to be a few six million pictures of my laptop coming up….and…GO!)

First, in a new document, bring up your autoshapes.

Under basic shapes, choose the plaque.

Then create it to be however large or small you like. I did it pretty large and used the paper in a landscape setup.

Now, seriously, who wants to use a thin black border? Not this girl, so right click and format autoshape.

I aways prefer to use the “more colors” option and get this pretty color wheel (What?! It just makes me happy!).

Then make that border a lot thicker!

Already WAY better, right?! Now, add a text box. Then right click on it and format text box.

You want to get rid of the outer box around it so there is continuity in your food tag…clearly, this is all very serious stuff….adding tags to food you take as a gift.

Simple, just click “no fill” under line.

Now, use a super duper cutesy font to write “From our kitchen to yours”, the recipe, and any special reheating or baking directions, and sign it from your awesome family! I played around with the colors of the fonts too….no one likes plain old black, right?!

Then print and grab a pair of scrapbooking scissors. I love to use the scallopped edge ones. I just followed about 1/4 inch or so outside the plaque. Then, I simply taped it onto each dish.

Who doesn’t love a free, homecooked meal made with love?! Everyone does, but who doesn’t pee their pants get really excited when the instructions for the meal look this adorable?! Ok, maybe I seem a bit over the top about this, but I really appreciate the little details in life! Also, this took less than 5 minutes to whip up and stick to the prepared dishes.

Mrs O

1 Comment

Filed under Gifts

One response to “The Gift of Food….isn’t it the best gift of all?!

  1. Nancy

    It is the best gift. When a neighbor moved in. I gave them fixin’s for homemade pizza. Pizza pan, pizza sauce, pizza seasoning grinder, crust (ahem…mix) and motzarella. They still talk about this from time to time (5 yrs ago). We do it not for the recognition but for the gift of giving. I love you idea of the tags and your directions! Enjoy your ideas and recipes.

Leave a Reply

