Fall Pumpkin Display

I mentioned in my post about the “fall” word stands I made that I struggle with what to put in the large openings of my entertainment center. I don’t want to put something too distracting because the TV is directly in between these openings, but I also have a dark brown wall behind it and dark wooden furniture, so it has to be something a little brighter. However, my dilemma has been that I used mostly brown to decorate our old house since the walls were sage-what’s a girl to do?!

Well, I’ll tell you what a girl is to do! She is to go to Michael’s when they have their decorative pumpkins and fall garland 50% and get her craft on ๐Ÿ™‚

I didn’t take a picture of all the materials I started with, but I’ll make a list for you

2 small decorative pumpkins

2 medium decorative pumpkins

1 strand fall garland

2 small terra cotta pots

2 medium terra cotta trays

spray paint (I had a 50% off one regularly priced item, so I used it on the spray paint because that stuff gets pricey!)

a few fall picks (I also got these for %50 off–SCORE!)

I started by hot gluing the bottom of the terra cotta pots to the bottom of the terra cotta trays

(I glued them together before painting them, but forgot to take a picture…whoops!)

Then I decided that wanted I remove the stems from all 4 pumpkins. I liked the stems on the larger pumpkins better (they had pretty leaves on them), so I inserted those in the place of the ugly stems on the smaller pumpkins and hot glued the small pumpkin to the big pumpkin. Then I started hot gluing leaves from my garland (just cut the leaves right off that garland and any other goodies on it…berries, acorns, etc.).

With this particular set of pumpkins, the large pumpkin was smaller on one side than the other, so I added a couple of wooden beads between then to boost the small pumpkin higher.

You can barely see those pesky little beads peeking out from between the leaves! After I glued leaves between the pumpkins, I started adding pieces of the picks I bought. I cut them apart so that I’d have more to work with and dabbed some hot glue on the end then stuck them in there. I think if you stuck entire picks into the areas where I only inserted one piece, it would be a bit overwhelming…plus, your money goes further this way! (Win, Win!)

Now, I took more leaves and hot glued them onto the bottom. I didn’t want to glue anything to my painted terra cotta post–just in case I decide to use them for something else in a different season ๐Ÿ™‚

Hot glue a few more pick pieces, acorns, and berries (or whatever extra came on your garland) to the bottom pumpkin and you’re set!

Now, I just set them on top of my stands and displayed them!

They really brighten the opening up without being too distracting! Plus, I love the pop of red and orange when I look toward the dark TV wall ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d like to add some ribbon either to the very bottom of the stand or the area just beneath the tray that holds the pumpkins, but I haven’t found anything I like quite yet. I’ll keep you posted!

I made an awesome Halloween wreath today, so stay tuned for that post tomorrow!

Mrs O

1 Comment

Filed under Crafty Goodness

One response to “Fall Pumpkin Display

  1. Ginny

    This is very pretty! Might have to borrow this idea … as if I need more decorations.;-)

Leave a Reply

