Scrumptious Homemade Pumpkin Spice Bread

I tried making pumpkin cream cheese last week (it was a total fail) and it only required a couple tablespoons of pumpkin puree so I needed to figure out something to do with the rest of my pumpkin. Hmmmmm (it actually wasn’t that hard of a decision at all….PUMPKIN BREAD! My all-time, doesn’t-matter-the-season favorite treat from Starbucks is pumpkin bread, but I think theirs lacks the spice that this recipe has. This recipe made me two medium-sized loaves, but it can be reduced or doubled with the same delicious, moist, flavorful result.

Warning: There are quite a few more steps than the boxed pumpkin bread mix (you know which one I’m talking about…it has a can of pumpkin in it and a bag of…what’s in that bag, anyway?!), but it is so, so, so worth it.

Here is the ingredient line up:

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup oil (I used canola, but you can use vegetable too)

2 eggs

1 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)

1 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp allspice or pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground cloves

1/3 cup water

Step 1: Mix the sugar and oil together in a bowl (it looks so gross and made me feel like a total fatty doing this, but the end result is delicious and as long as you don’t eat the whole loaf by yourself in one hour–you won’t be a fatty ๐Ÿ™‚ And if you do decide to eat it all in an hour, no one will blame you because it’s yummy…you can just go run the next morning or something!) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Step 2: Add pumpkin , eggs, and vanilla to oily sugar mixture and blend well.

Step 3: Mix all dry ingredients in a separate bowl.

Step 4: Add in part of the dry ingredient mixture, blend. Add in part of the water, blend. Continue to do this until you have no dry mixture or water left. Keep mixing so it’s nice and smooth!

Step 5: Spray canola oil/Pam spray into your loaf pan so it isย  coated. Pour half of your mixture into the pan.

Step 6: Bake for anywhere from 35-50 minutes, depending on the size of your loaf pan. When you insert a toothpick in the centermost part of the bread, it should come out clean or with little delicious crumbs on it.

Step 7: Let it sit for about 10 minutes, then pop that loaf pan upside down and your scrumptious pumpkin spice bread will be ready to be cut and enjoyed ๐Ÿ™‚

I put one loaf on parchment paper, sliced it, wrapped it and sent it to work with Dr O (that’s what I usually do when my temptation is overcoming me and I’m wanting to eat crazy amounts of sugars and fats, but I always keep a little bit of the

yummies for the O fam). The other loaf I put on a platter and covered with saran wrap. I had one piece, Little O had one piece for snack, and Dr O came home early and ate maybe 4 pieces ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy!

Mrs O

1 Comment

Filed under Yummies

One response to “Scrumptious Homemade Pumpkin Spice Bread

Leave a Reply

