Kale chips…what?!

So, I’m sure that you (just like myself) never know what to do with kale. I have only ever used it as a cheap garnish on a veggie tray, but in my search for how to use whole foods and cook using the veggies that will be coming to us in our CSA box next month..da, da, da, da (Sing that, outloud. Come on, don’t feel foolish! Do it!) …I found a recipe for kale chips. Now, make no mistake–these are no bag of Lays. BUT, they have a great crunch and with proper seasoning are a much lower-calorie, healthier option for a snack.

Ingredients are

1 bunch of kale

1 tablespoon oil (olive oil or canola oil)

Parmesan

Salt

Pepper

That’s it 🙂

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Then take your bunch of kale and rinse it thoroughly in a colander. When you’re finished, lay it out to dry on a kitchen towel or paper towels. I flipped mine a couple times because those curly edges did not want to dry (If you’re really in a hurry to try this out, you can pat the kale down with another towel on top).

Once they are completely dry, tear chip size pieces off of the stem and place in a bowl. Now…throw those pesky stems away!

There is my bowl full of chip sized kale. Now mix in one tablespoon of oil. I used canola oil and a friend of mine mentioned using an olive oil mister (this sounds like a product I need. Christmas is coming. Hint, hint, Dr O). I poured the tablespoon of oil on top and then dug my clean hands in there to mix it all around and be sure each piece of kale was completely coated. Try not to be tempted to put more than 1 tablespoon oil per bunch of kale. You’ll think you need it, but this will result in soggy chips that won’t crisp up. Trust me 😉 After each piece is nice and coated, spread them out on a baking sheet.

Now sprinkle whatever toppings you like to your hearts content. I only used salt for my first batch, but a friend (the same friend from above) and Dr O said parmesan would be a nice touch. Not grated…you know, the white stuff that comes in a bottle by the spaghetti sauce? 🙂 Also, Dr O has demanded very thoughtfully said that he would like some black pepper as well. I saw online where people used cayenne pepper, too (if you’re into that—I am not!) After your sprinklage is complete, pop those bad boys in the oven for about 13-15 minutes. Check on them those last few minutes. You want the curly edges to be such a dark green that they look brownish-black. Take them out and let them sit for a minute and promptly transfer them to a bowl for munchie time 🙂

Enjoy!

I made two bowls. The first was mine (for trial, of course, not greed or the fact that I’ve been dying to try these for a week now) and the second was Dr O’s. His were a little better because I had perfected the art after 3 batches in the oven 🙂

Mrs O

Leave a comment

Filed under Yummies

Leave a Reply

