CSA Share #2

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE being a part of a CSA. Did I mention I love it?! Seriously….I was smiling all day yesterday (not just because of a great coffee/soup date with my friend Krystle, although that also contributed) because I knew I was getting our second share from Elmwood! I got a dozen eggs, organic chicken necks and backs (I have no clue what to do with these….), organic sirloin tip, organic chicken wings, and two boxes of gorgeous organic veggies :) The first box I opened looked like this

The tomatoes were picked before our first frost, so they need a couple weeks to ripen, but I appreciate that the farm was trying to get food into our boxes and give us some tomatoes. They’re so thoughtful and hardworking! :)

Let me lay out what we have for you

Rainbow swiss chard, kale, radishes, stripetti squash, tomatoes, butternut squash, two HUGE sweet potatoes (and we haven’t even finished the sweet potatoes from the last share–good thing they’ll keep for a while!), delicata squash, garlic, white, red, and sweet yellow candy onions…

a bunch of red potatoes, 5 green sweet bell peppers, two huge heads of bok choy (yay!)….

3 heads of lettuce, 2 beautiful watermelon radishes, 3 beets, a stalk of celery, and a large bunch of collard greens!

More than enough to get us through the next 2 weeks as we will have a few things leftover (some potatoes and the butternut squash, but those keep for QUITE a while). So, here is our menu plan (no–it doesn’t include sauteed grated beets :/).

Friday- Salad with Radishes and Skirt Steak & Bok Choy Stir Fry with Rice

Saturday- Zucchini Pesto Pizza with homemade Dr. O pizza dough

Sunday- Chicken Caesar Sandwiches and Sweet Potato Fries

Monday- Roast Beef and 15 minute Collards

Tuesday- Caesar Salad and Rigatoni with Swiss Chard

Wednesday- We’re attending an interview dinner for residency applicants, so Little O will have to fend for herself ;)

Thursday- Bok Choy and Carrots Stir Fry with Roasted Radishes

Friday- Leftover Roast Beef and Balsamic Swiss Chard

Saturday- Lemon Garlic Spaghetti and Roasted Brocolli

Sunday- Stripetti Squash Pesto

Monday- Chicken Packets and Roasted Carnival Squash (this squash is from our first pickup)

Tuesday- Bacon Cheeseburger Chicken and Baked Sweet Potatoes

Wednesday- Lasagna Roll Ups and Roasted Delicata Squash

Thursday- Chicken Wings and Roasted White Potatoes and Carrots (This is also the day we will pick up our next share :)

I’ll post any recipes that are stellar (or horrible) as they come about, but if you’re antsy for any now, feel free to comment below and I’ll share!

As always, the kale will be used for kale chips (or as I’m affectionately referring to them now…superfood chips). I usually eat the crust from Little O’s sandwich, some Quaker Rice Cakes, and half an apple for lunch, but in an effort to save money (those Quakes get expensive when Little O and I each go through a bag a week! She loves the cheddar cheese ones and I love the ranch!) and boost my daily veggie intake–I’m replacing Quakes with superfood chips :) And considering the last bunch of kale (which was smaller) made 6 or so servings of superfood chips…this bunch should get me through to the next share pick up :) The bell peppers usually go with Dr. O to work as a snack…I’m sure the celery will also be a good snack. I’m thinking add some raisins and peanut butter and Little O might be having ants on a log as snack for a couple days! We’ll see whether or not she likes it.

If you have any other great ideas for things I can do with my delicious farm fresh goodness, please comment below! I’m always open to new ideas :)

Mrs. O

3 Comments

Filed under Farm Fresh

3 responses to “CSA Share #2

  1. Love your plans. Post the results.

  2. Ginny

    Let me know if you find a good sweet potato fry receipe; I tried one the other night and didn’t turn out so well. You can use your squash and julienne it and have with regular spaghetti sauce (leftover from your first share); we just julienne and boil for a minute or so and drain :-) Receipe for bacon cheeseburger chicken please! Can’t wait to hear how it all goes!

  3. mymintjulep

    Do you julienne it before roasting or boiling it? We’ve been cutting spaghetti squash in half, deseeding, roasting, and then pulling the strands out. http://www.kevinandamanda.com/recipes/dinner/bacon-cheeseburger-chicken.html is the link to the bacon cheeseburger chicken. I usually cook the bacon the way she intructs and use the bacon grease to brown the chicken. It isn’t quite as healthy, but it gives it good flavor :) Also, I mix the ranch and terryaki before pouring them on the chicken. Enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

