Roasted Radishes and Halloween Fun

HAPPY HALLOWEEN! Little O had a pumpkin-shaped sandwich with chocolate chip jack-o-lantern face for lunch (when she ate all the chocolate chips she said “I want more chocate pwease!” and I said, “No, dear, you’ll get quite enough tonight!”), decorated a pumpkin with Halloween stickers, and will have a sweet bell pepper carved to look like a jack-o-lantern filled with spaghetti before trick or treating tonight! It has been a very festive day :) I just hope she can calm down enough to nap!! Yesterday, we carved our free pumpkin that we got from the market a few weeks ago. Little O and her daddy had LOTS of fun :) I’m planning to cut up the pumpkin the day after Halloween and use it to make pumpkin puree. I didn’t know you could do that, but I’ve found a website (junk mail gems) that really gets full use out of everything she buys! I think it’ll make a yummy pumpkin pie and a few other pumpkin treats during November!

I caught her eating some of the pumpkin….gross, right?! Also, don’t mind her insanely wet shirt. She has had some bad drooling and runny nose so we think she’s cutting ANOTHER 2 year molar. I swear this girl has been cutting teeth nonstop since 3 1/2 months. How many teeth can one little girl have?!?!?!?

It’s a winking hillbilly pumpkin :) And Little O didn’t want to pose, she just wanted to look inside!

On another note, I tried an unconventional recipe for radishes this past weekend and thought they were DELICIOUS, so I thought I’d share. After my beets fail, I was slightly worried about doing this, but they really turned out quite yummy as a side dish. Also, they will go very well with the skirt steak and bok choy stir fry. It’s SUCH a simple recipe! Preheat the oven to 425. Wash radishes and cut up into cubes. Then toss them with olive oil, salt, and pepper (Is it me or do a LOT of the recipes I post on here start this way…?!). Roast for about 25 minutes or until radishes are beginning to brown. Then toss with 1-2 tbsp soy sauce and a few sesame seeds. Roast another 5 minutes and VOILA! I don’t have a picture for you because it was a little crazy in the O house Saturday night. Dr O and I were each trying to cook in our small kitchen and Little O had boycotted her nap that afternoon so she was QUITE the handful. I also realize that there probably aren’t very many of you rushing out to buy radishes and try this recipe BUT if you happen to be a part of a CSA and get some radishes in your next share, give this recipe a try!

As a sidenote, I’m proud to say that we are just a few days away from picking up our second CSA share and have yet to waste a single thing from our first share! And everything has been delicious (except the yucky grated sauteed beets)! I can’t wait until Thursday gets here so I can see what deliciousness we’ll be getting :)

Mrs O

 

1 Comment

Filed under Farm Fresh, Yummies

One response to “Roasted Radishes and Halloween Fun

  1. sharpshooter77

    I look forward to all your posts whether success or failure. They are all good and love the tidbits of news about Little O.

Leave a Reply

