Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

Our tomatoes from our share were getting pretty ripe and it was time to do something with them or lose them….I’m not a fan of wasting money, so I had to suck it up and make some spaghetti sauce. I was also able to use an onion from our share and some fresh basil that I had in the fridge :) I found a cooks.com recipe (and made a few adjustments to it) that made a nice, light sauce that I think will work well for us. I used about 2 lbs of tomatoes. Here’s the rundown of your ingredients:

2 lbs. tomatoes (peeled, cored, quartered)

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion chopped

2 cloves minced garlic

1 cp. water

6 oz. tomato paste

1 tbsp sugar

2 tsp beef bouillon granules

1 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp salt

4-5 crushed basil leaves

1/8 tsp pepper

First, I heated up the olive oil in a saucepan (on high heat) and chopped up the onion (this literally made me bawl…Little O was asking Dr O “Why Mommy cwying [that's how she pronounces it...I thought you needed the real effect of her language skills]?!”) and minced the garlic in my awesome garlic mincer.

I added the onion and garlic to the oil and cooked them both through–until the onions were translucent. Then I added the rest of the ingredients, mixed it up well, and continued to cook on high until boiling (this didn’t take long, maybe 5-10 minutes).

I turned the heat to low and let the sauce simmer for about 1 1/2 hours. Then I put it all in the food processor (this is, obviously, an optional step, but the texture of tomatoes is just not one that I can eat so I can’t even have chunks of tomato in my sauce) to make it nice and smooth. Dr O and I both taste tested and thought it was pretty yummy and light–just like the O family likes it :) Then I canned it. As you can see, I have a large glass container and about 1/3 of a small glass container. This should last us for quite a while since we like to go light on the sauce!

We’re thinking we won’t get any more tomatoes in our shares since it is getting further into the Fall weather, but if we do…I’ll probably just make more of this sauce to last us through winter :)

Mrs O

2 Comments

Filed under Farm Fresh, Yummies

2 responses to “Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Gigi

    That is basically my recipe. But I have never used the beef bouillon granules, nor have I put it in a food processor! My younger son says I make the very best spaghetti sauce there is. (so it’s gotta be good for Trey to say that)!!
    Love your posts!

  2. Ginny

    Sounds delish! Will have to save this for next summer when our tomatoes come in.

Leave a Reply

